Twitter will soon begin to delete inactive accounts and thereby free usernames

Do you want to post an article on social media?

If you have long wanted to change the username on Twitter, but it was taken by another person who does not use the social network at all, then you will have the opportunity to take this username to yourself.

Twitter began to send notifications to users of inactive accounts with a warning: if you do not log in to the social network before December 11, your account will become history and the username will be freed again. This email is received by users who have not logged in to Twitter for more than six months.

Unfortunately, Twitter has not yet specified exactly when the freed up user names will become available to existing users. The process of deleting inactive accounts “will take months, because it does not happen in one day”, according to a company representative. So you should not expect that directly on December 12, the @username that you liked will immediately become free.

By the way, this procedure also applies to the accounts of people who have departed to another world. Representatives of Twitter said that they do not yet have a tool to perpetuate someone’s accounts, but the team is working to resolve this issue.

READ:   Fossil showed a new smart watch equipped with an E-ink display

By the way, a restriction has also appeared for usernames – now their length can not be less than five characters.

Write in the comments the options for whatever you change your username!

A source: The verge

If you find an error, please select a piece of text and press Ctrl + Enter.

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •